Key Personnel

Dr. Anne-Maria Brennan – Chairperson & Trustee

Anne-Maria is Principal Lecturer in Bioscience and Forensic Biology, having been Deputy Head of the Department of Applied Science, at London South Bank University. She is a published author of numerous articles and five books, including the popular ecology textbook First Ecology- now in its third edition. She has a long-standing and wide-ranging interest in the interface between science, technology and culture and the public understanding of science.

Ian Fenn – Trustee

Ian has been Head teacher of Burnage Academy for Boys, a school with a catchment area of inner city Manchester, since 2001. He has extensive teaching and headship experience. Apart from school improvement, Ian’s main interest is in developing social inclusion and strategies to prevent extremist violence. His role at FSTC is as Advisor on Educational Resources and the National Curriculum. He is a trustee of Curriculum Enrichment For The Future.

Prof. Mohamed El-Gomati OBE – Trustee

Prof. Mohamed El-Gomati OBE

Mohamed is Professor of Electronics at York University and Chairman of FSTC. His research interests are in Surface Science and Electron Optics with particular emphasis on the development of novel instrumentation for nanostructure analysis. He is the author and co-author of more than 200 articles and patents in these fields. He is an advisor to a number of UK universities and charities and speaks on the contribution of Muslims in science, technology and civilisation. In 2012, Professor Gomati was awarded the OBE for his outstanding services to science.

Ayshah Ismail – Chief Executive Officer

Ayshah’s background is in teaching, formerly a Head of Science and Lecturer in Biology. Her experiences working with pupils of different ages have been pivotal in informing the development of teaching resources within FSTC. Prior to her work with Curriculum Enrichment For The Future, Ayshah supervised the educational activities within FSTC. She is a volunteer for many community based organisations, promoting community cohesion – this has positively influenced much of her contribution to Curriculum Enrichment For The Future.

Marianne Cutler

Marianne is Executive Director, Professional and Curriculum Innovation for The Association for Science Education, where she provides overall strategic direction on curriculum development, professional development for science teachers and others involved in science education, and on ASE’s publications. Marianne is director for ASE’s main curriculum development programmes including DCSF funded Improving Practical Work in Science. Marianne was a science teacher for eight years and has previously worked for the Pupil Researcher Initiative with Sheffield Hallam University.

Prof. Peter Pormann

peter pormannAfter studying Classics, French, and Islamic Studies in Paris (Sorbonne), Hamburg, and Tübingen, Peter took an MA in Islamic Studies at the University of Leiden, and an M.Phil. and D.Phil in Classics at the University of Oxford (Corpus Christi College). As an undergraduate, Peter’s prime motivation in choosing Classics was to understand ‘our’ Western culture, for surely its two main roots were Graeco-Roman Antiquity and the Judaeo-Christian tradition. Little did he know that a third ‘root’, Islamic culture, is intrinsically linked to ‘our’ own tradition, a fact conveniently forgotten by ideologues of different persuasions. Peter’s teaching and research therefore tries to rectify this misconception by investigating the many contacts between Muslims, Jews, and Christians writing in Greek, Latin, Hebrew, and Arabic, be it in the tenth or the twentieth century.

Rukhsana Yaqoob 

Rukhsana has been a secondary school teacher for many years and has taught in four east London schools. She worked for the National Strategies and as a Narrowing the Gap Regional Adviser. She has been working on the Minority Ethnic Achievement Programme (MEAP), which aims to raise the attainment of Pakistani, Bangladeshi, Turkish and Somali. Rukhsana is a vice President of the Muslim Teachers’ Association, is a tutor on the Investing in Diversity programme at the Institute of Education and has been a school governor for many years.

Ian Kendrick

Ian is Management Consultant at FSTC. He is a highly skilled presenter, teacher and facilitator and visiting lecturer at business schools, working at Masters Level on strategy, innovation, viability, organisation, leadership, storytelling and building shared vision and mental models. Ian worked for over thirty years in industry, becoming Vice President of Corporate Development for several large organisations. Ian is the originator of the Be The Future! Framework.

Tony Hodgson

Tony is the founder of Decision Integrity Limited, a company pioneering ways to facilitate better decisions through application of holistic thinking, systems mapping, integrative group processes and sustainable values. Tony has originated many innovative approaches and processes to enable individual and group learning. His consulting experience spans several decades, working at board level in many leading organisations in the public and private sectors. He helped facilitate the foundation of SOL (the Society for Organisational Learning) International and the foundation of the International Futures Forum of which he is a member. Tony has published papers on various aspects of educational technology, systems thinking and facilitation and co-authored two books on Scenario Thinking and has contributed to a book on Cybernetics and Management.

Prof. Jim Al-Khalili OBE

Prof. Jim Al-Khalili OBEJim is Professor of Physics at the University of Surrey where he also holds a Chair in the Public Engagement in Science. He gained a PhD in theoretical nuclear physics from Surrey in 1989 and publishes widely on theoretical physics and quantum mechanics. He is also active as a science communicator, author and broadcaster and has written a number of popular science books, which between them have been translated into thirteen languages. He is a regular presenter of TV science documentaries, most recently on the history of chemistry, which has been nominated for a BAFTA. He is a trustee and vice president of the British Science Association and a senior adviser to the British Council on science and technology. He was awarded the 2007 Royal Society Michael Faraday medal and prize for science communication and was honoured with an OBE in the 2008 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Facebook IconYouTube IconTwitter Icon